## January 17, 2023

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in special session on the above date at 2:00 p.m. in the third-floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Mark Groenendyk; Vice chairman – Steve Wanders and Member – Chuck Webb. Also present were Brian Knudtson, GIS Director; Andrew McGuire, Engineer; Michelle Kent, Deputy Auditor and Teri Rogers, Mahaska County Auditor.

It was moved by Webb seconded by Wanders to approve the agenda for today's meeting. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Public Comments: None

It was moved by Wanders seconded by Webb to accept the proposal and provide Andrew McGuire with approval to sign the MODES Consultant Agreement. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Webb seconded by Wanders to approve the following resolution providing financial support of the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

## **RESOLUTION # 2023-5**

Resolution Providing for the Financial Support of the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission.

**WHEREAS,** Chapters 28E and 473A of the State Code of Iowa, as amended, authorized the governing bodies of governmental units to cooperate in the operation of a regional planning commission; and

**WHEREAS,** by the Articles of Agreement, signed on August 15, 1973, as amended, the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission did become the authorized planning agency for Service Delivery Area 15; and

**WHEREAS**, the governing body of Mahaska County is a part of the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission and has agreed to contribute \$.52 per capita, for a total amount equal to \$5,625.48, to cover financial operating costs of the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission from July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2024.

## **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that **Mahaska County**, IA has designated:

Mark GroenendykOfficial RepresentativeSteve WandersAlternateto serve on the Area 15 Regional Planning Board of Directors.

Agreed to this 17<sup>th</sup> day of January 2023.

It was moved by Wanders seconded by Webb to approve the following resolution providing financial support of the Regional Planning Affiliation (RPA 15). All present voted aye. Motion carried.

## **RESOLUTION 2023-6**

Resolution Providing for the Financial Support of the Regional Planning Affiliation (RPA 15).

**WHEREAS,** the state of Iowa has designated the counties of Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren, Wapello along with the cities of Fairfield, Oskaloosa and Ottumwa as the Regional Planning Affiliation for Region 15 (RPA 15), and;

**WHEREAS,** RPA 15 Articles of Agreement, signed on December 22, 1994, and amended on January 23, 2014 designate the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission (Area 15 RPC) as the Regional Planning Affiliation for Region 15; and

**WHEREAS**, the Iowa Department of Transportation (IDOT) requires each RPA to provide transportation planning to member jurisdictions prior to receiving Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funding from the Iowa Department of Transportation; and

**WHEREAS,** RPA 15 expects to receive and program an estimated \$2,936,001 in federal highway transportation grant funds for FY24 to be used for road improvements in RPA 15, of which Mahaska County's estimated share is \$370,000; and

**WHEREAS,** the IDOT requires Area 15 RPC to provide twenty percent (20%) local match toward the annual IDOT planning grant; and the FY24 local match requirement is an estimated \$22,388 and shall be proportionally shared by the member jurisdictions, and

**WHEREAS**, the governing body of Mahaska County is a member of RPA 15 and whose apportioned share of FY24 local match equals \$2,821.

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that **Mahaska County** has agreed to contribute \$2,821 to the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission to serve as FY24 local match.

Agreed to this 17<sup>th</sup> day of January 2023.

Michelle Kent, Deputy Auditor reported on the January 10, 2023, City of Eddyville (City Council) Special Election. There were 17 ballots cast out of 136 registered voters in Mahaska County for 12.5% turnout. There was 1 absentee ballot requested and 1 absentee ballot returned. 167 voted at the polls. The results were read. It was moved by Webb seconded by Wanders to certify and approve the canvas results. Motion carried.

Wapello County will be administering the 2nd-tier canvass. Full results of the City of Eddyville (City Council) Special Election can be found in the permanent election record in the Mahaska County Auditor's Office.

Public Comments: None

It was moved by Webb seconded by Wanders to adjourn. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Attest:\_\_\_\_\_

Teri Rogers Mahaska County Auditor Mark Groenendyk - Chairman Mahaska County Board of Supervisors