September 19, 2011

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on the above date at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Henry W.VanWeelden, vice chairman – Greg Gordy and member – Ken Rozenboom. Also present were the following: Ken Allsup, Osky News; Don Hubbard, Osky News; Eric Dursky, Mahaska County Sanitarian; Miranda Johnson, MCARD; Dave Sedivec, Mahaska County Conservation Director; Jerome Nusbaum, Mahaska County Engineer and Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor.

This meeting was filmed by Communications Research Institute of William Penn University.

Chairman VanWeelden called the meeting to order with a moment of silence.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by Gordy to approve the agenda for today's meeting. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by VanWeelden to approve the minutes of September 6th and 16th. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Eric Dursky, Mahaska County Sanitarian gave the board his monthly report and it was placed on file.

Miranda Johnson, Mahaska County Agricultural and Rural Development Director gave the board her monthly report and it was placed on file.

Dave Sedivec, Mahaska County Conservation Director gave the board his monthly report and it was placed on file.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to approve the Veterans Affairs monthly report for August. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to approve the request of the Oskaloosa Chamber & Development Group to have the public restrooms be open on December 1st and 2nd for the Lighted Christmas Parade. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by Gordy to approve the Contract for Professional Services with Snyder & Associates for contract #STP-S-CO62(69)—SE-62 for the following project: Transportation study in the area along U.S.63 in East Central Iowa, from the intersection of U.S. 163 and U.S.63 south of Oskaloosa to U.S.6. All present voted aye. Motion carried. The engineer stated that he intends to start advertising for a road maintenance supervisor soon.

Rozenboom reported on the activities of the 10-15 transit board.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to open the public hearing for the 2^{nd} reading of the voting precinct ordinance #131. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

There were no written or oral comments at the hearing.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to close the public hearing for the voting precinct ordinance #131. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rozenboom seconded by Gordy to waive the 3rd reading of the ordinance. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to approve the Voting Precinct Ordinance #131. Roll call vote: Rozenboom- aye; Gordy – aye; VanWeelden – aye. Motion carried.

ORDINANCE NUMBER 131

This ordinance replaces Ordinance Number 126, dated September 19, 2005.

An Ordinance of the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors establishing the voting precincts of Mahaska County, Iowa.

WHEREAS the Board of Supervisors of Mahaska County, Iowa is empowered and directed by Chapter 49.7 of the Code of Iowa to determine and establish the voting precincts for Mahaska County, Iowa;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ORDAINED by the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors that the voting precincts of Mahaska County, Iowa be and hereby are established as follows:

NUMBER ONE:	Adams Township Monroe Township Pleasant Grove Township (including The Town of Barnes City) and Union Township
NUMBER TWO:	Black Oak Township (including The Town of Leighton) and Scott Township
NUMBER THREE:	Cedar Township (including The Town of Fremont) Harrison Township (including the town of Eddyville) and White Oak Township (including The Town of Rose Hill)

- NUMBER FOUR: East Des Moines Township Jefferson Township and West Des Moines Township
- NUMBER FIVE: Garfield Township (including the Town of Beacon) Lincoln Township and Madison Township
- NUMBER SIX:Spring Creek Township except SE SW; NE SW; NW SW of
Section 7 Township 75 Range 15; and E 190.35' SW SW in
Section 7 Township 75 Range 15 (unincorporated territory); and
SE NE S of Hwy in Section 12 Township 75 Range 16
(unincorporated territory) (including the Town of Keomah
Village).
- NUMBER SEVEN: Oskaloosa Ward One
- NUMBER EIGHT: Oskaloosa Ward Two
- NUMBER NINE: Oskaloosa Ward Three and The Town of University Park
- NUMBER TEN: Oskaloosa Ward Four (incorporated territory) and SE SW; NE SW; NW SW of Section 7 Township 75 Range 15; and E 190.35' SW SW in Section 7 Township 75 Range 15 (unincorporated territory); and SE NE S of Hwy in Section 12 Township 75 Range 16 (unincorporated territory).
- NUMBER ELEVEN: Prairie Township (including The Town of New Sharon) and Richland Township

Ayes	Nays
Gordy, VanWeelden and Rozenboom	none
Rozenboom, Gordy	
and VanWeelden	none
VanWeelden, Rozenboom and Gordy	
	none
	Gordy, VanWeelden and Rozenboom Rozenboom, Gordy and VanWeelden

Dated this 19th day of September, 2011

<u>Henry Van Weelden</u> Chairman, Henry W. Van Weelden

Attest: Kay Swanson Auditor, Kay Swanson

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Rozenboom to adjourn. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Henry W.VanWeelden, Chairman Mahaska County Board of Supervisors

ATTEST: _

Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor