March 13, 2006

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met on the above date in special session at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Chairman – Greg Gordy; Vice chairman – Lawrence Rouw; Supervisor – Henry W. VanWeelden. Also present were the following: Joleen Arnold, Mahaska County CPC; Don Russell, Mahaska County Sanitarian; Jerome Nusbaum, Mahaska County Engineer; Ed Goemaat, Shawna Goemaat, Floyd W. Everett, Jonathan Coster, Jerry VandeVoort, WandaVandeVoort, Mike Terpstra, Marcia Terpstra, Howard Vroom, Brian Ritland and Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor.

Chairman Gordy opened the meeting with a moment of silence.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the agenda with the addition of discussion of SE Connector Road. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to write a letter of support for the building project of the Agency on Ageing. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the following amendment to the Regional Utility Service Systems Agreement. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Amendment #3 to Intergovernmental Agreement

AMENDMENT #3 TO REGIONAL UTILITY SERVICE SYSTEMS INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT

This modification is made and enter into as of March 13, 2006, by and between the counties of Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Mahaska, Van Buren, Wapello and Washington, Iowa herein collectively referred to as the "Counties" and individually referred to as a "County". References hereinafter to the Board of Supervisors shall mean the Board of Supervisors of the respective Counties.

Modifications to the Intergovernmental Agreement have been previously made through Amendment #1, and Amendment #2. This Amendment #3 is for the purpose of adding Lee County as a participating member county of Regional Utility Service Systems.

THEREFORE, by approving the addition of Lee County it hereby amends the following items to the Intergovernmental Agreement: all other provisions of the original Agreement, as previously amended, remain in effected and are specifically incorporated herein by all signatory members to this amendment.

ARTICLE VI ORGANIZATION

- 1. The Commission shall be governed by a board of eleven members, consisting of one member from each County. Said members shall be appointed by the respective Board of Supervisors of the Counties.
- 2. The Commission terms of office shall be as follows:
 - (a) The initial terms of the members shall be as follows:

| Davis County | Term expiring December 31, 2006 |
|-------------------|---------------------------------|
| Des Moines County | Term expiring December 31, 2006 |
| Henry County | Term expiring December 31, 2006 |
| Jefferson County | Term expiring December 31, 2006 |
| Keokuk County | Term expiring December 31, 2007 |
| Lee County | Term expiring December 31, 2007 |
| Louisa County | Term expiring December 31, 2007 |
| Mahaska County | Term expiring December 31, 2007 |
| Van Buren County | Term expiring December 31, 2008 |
| Wapello County | Term expiring December 31, 2008 |
| Washington County | Term expiring December 31, 2008 |

ARTICLE IX

TERMINATION

2. In the event of such a vote to completely dissolve the Commission, any real or personal property shall be sold prior to the date and time specified and, unless a different method of distribution is adopted by unanimous vote of the members of the Commission, the net assets divided into equal one-eleventh shares among the Counties.

<u>EFFECTIVE DATE:</u> The Third Amendment to Intergovernmental Agreement shall be effective from and after the date of approval hereof by each of the Counties and filing of the same with the Secretary of State and the County Recorder of each of the Counties.

Amendment #3 to Intergovernmental Agreement

EXECUTION OF AMENDMENT #3

In testimony whereof, the Counties have caused this Amendment #3 to be executed on their behalf by their duly authorized officers, and the same to be attested by their County Auditor, and the corporate seal of said parties to be affixed hereto all as of the day and year first above written.

| COUNTY (| OF MAI | HASKA, | IOWA |
|-----------------|--------|--------|-------------|
| By: s/ Greg | Gordy | | |
| Chairperson | • | | |

Attest: s/Kay Swanson County Auditor

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to approve the Pursuit Policy No. III-6 dated March 15, 2006 for the Sheriff's Department. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to open the public hearing for the Construction Permit Application for the Coster Trust building to be built in the SW quarter of the NE quarter of Section 2, Township 76 Range 16. All present voted aye. Motion carried. The following gave written comments to the board: Ed and Shawna Goemaat; Emil and Hazel Allen; Mike and Marcia Terpstra; Jeff and Robin LaRue; Jerry L. and Wanda VandeVoort; William and Nadine Drennan; and Floyd W. Everett. There was much discussion on the matter. It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to close the public hearing for the Construction Permit Application form for Coster Trust. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Since the New Sharon Sun publication had an error in the publication it was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to hold a second hearing. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to open the public hearing for the Three Year Strategic Plan a part of the Mahaska County Managed Care Plan. All present voted aye. Motion carried. There were no written or oral comments. It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to close the public hearing. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the changes and updates to the Three Year Strategic Plan which is a part of the Mahaska County Managed Care Plan. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Rouw seconded by VanWeelden to approve the payroll change in the Secondary Road department that Merlin Robertson will retire effective March 17, 2006. He will be paid for his accrued vacation. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

J.D. Fleener discussed the SE Connector Road with the board and engineer. It will be placed on the March 20th agenda.

It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Rouw to adjourn. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

| | Greg Gordy, Chairman |
|------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| | Mahaska County Board of Supervisors |
| | |
| ATTEST: | |
| Kay Swanson, Mahaska (| County Auditor |