June 14, 2004

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in special session on the above date at 1:00 p.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Henry W. VanWeelden, Lawrence Rouw; and Greg Gordy. Also present were the following: Sue Brown, Deputy Auditor.

Chairman Rouw opened the meeting with a moment of silence. It was moved by VanWeelden seconded by Gordy to approve the agenda. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections, Kay Swanson, reported the total number voting on election night as 1228 votes cast at the polls with an additional 152 absentee votes counted. There were 0 absentee ballots and 0 paper ballot counted by the special precinct board making a total of 1380 votes cast. There were 14,750 registered voters eligible to vote on Tuesday, June 8, 2004 which equaled 9.36% that voted. There were 1046 Republican voters; 334 Democrat voters. There were 159 absentee ballots requested of which 152 were returned in time to be counted; 6 not returned at all; 1 returned not voted. 1 Provisional ballot cast at the polls was not counted by special precinct board. (Voter was not registered to vote.)

After reading the votes cast for each office the following candidates received the most votes for the party offices, as follows:

Federal Offices:

United States Senator: Chuck Grassley, Republican; Arthur Small, Democrat; United States Representative 3rd District: Stan Thompson, Republican; Leonard L. Boswell, Democrat;

State Offices:

State Senator District 36: Paul McKinley, Republican; Dave Sextro, Democrat, State Senator District 38: Neal Schuerer, Republican; Thomas J. Rielly, Democrat; State Representative District 72: Richard D. Arnold, Republican; Steven Reed, Democrat;

State Representative District 75: Danny C. Carroll, Republican; Eric J. Palmer, Democrat

County Offices:

Board of Supervisors: Henry W. VanWeelden, Republican; No candidate, Democrat; County Auditor: Kay Swanson, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

County Sheriff: Rick Phillips, Republican; Paul R. DeGeest, Democrat,

Township Offices:

Adams Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
No candidate, Republican; James Coulter, Democrat;

Black Oak Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Norman Terlouw, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Cedar Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Paul Weiland, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

East Des Moines Trustee Term ending 12/31/2008 Gerald E. VanDeKieft, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Garfield Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Kenneth VanDonselaar, Republican; No candidate, Democrat,

Harrison Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
No candidate, Republican; Lee A. Veldhuizen, Democrat;

Jefferson Township Trustee Unexpired term ending 12/31/06 Gregory A. Scott, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Term ending 12/31/2008 Steve Rozenboom, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Lincoln Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Raymond L. Meinders, Republican, No candidate, Democrat;

Madison Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Wayland Whitis, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Monroe Township Trustee Unexpired term ending 12/31/06 Pat Winegardner, Republican; No candidate, Democrat;

Term ending 12/31/2008 Steven Seitsinger, Republican; No candidate, Democrat Pleasant Grove Township Trustee Unexpired term ending 12/31/2006 No Candidate, Republican, Sandra J. Thomas, Democrat;

Term ending 12/31/2008 No Candidate, Republican, David Maudlin, Democrat;

Prairie Township Clerk
Unexpired term ending 12/31/2006
Phil Bloem, Republican; No candidate, Democrat

Prairie Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
No Candidate, Republican, Donald Goemaat, Democrat;

Richland Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Ken Vander Linden, Republican, No candidate, Democrat;

Scott Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Leroy Wanders, Republican, No candidate, Democrat;

Spring Creek Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Fred Bridges, Republican, No candidate, Democrat;

Union Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Francis Vander Linden, Republican, No candidate, Democrat;

West Des Moines Township Trustee Term ending 12/31/2008 No candidate, Republican; Bevan Dykstra, Democrat,

White Oak Township Trustee
Term ending 12/31/2008
Lloyd E. Moore, Republican, No candidate, Democrat,

It was moved by Gordy seconded by VanWeelden to approve the canvass and declare the candidates receiving the required percentage of the votes cast as duly nominated to the County and Township November General Election ballot. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned.

	Lawrence Rouw, Chairman
	Mahaska County Board of Supervisors
ATTEST	
	Sue Brown, Deputy, Mahaska County Auditor