# November 12, 2002

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in Special Session on Tuesday, November 12, 2002 at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the Mahaska County courthouse. Present were the following board members: Howard Groenendyk; Greg Gordy and Henry W. VanWeelden. Also present was Kay Swanson, County Auditor.

Chairman VanWeelden opened the meeting with a moment of silence.

It was moved by Groenendyk seconded by VanWeelden to approve the agenda. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Groenendyk to approve the request of the county attorney to waive the client-attorney privileges for the Cox case. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections Kay Swanson, reported the total number voting on election day as 5,260 votes cast at the polls with an additional 2,044 absentee ballots counted and 12 paper votes counted making a total of 7,316 voting November 5, 2002. There were 2208 absentee request for this election. Mahaska County had 14,448 registered voters for the General Election this year. There are still 75 absentee ballots still out. 50.64% of the registered voters voted for this general election.

The board read the votes cast for each office. The following candidates were winners in Mahaska County.

## **Federal Offices:**

United States Senator: Greg Ganske – 4005; Tom Harkin – 3124; Timothy A. Harthan – 40; Richard J. Moore – 41.

United States Representative: Stan Thompson – 3847; Leonard L. Boswell – 3259; Jeffrey J. Smith – 52; Edwin B. Fruit – 1.

## **State Offices:**

Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Doug Gross & Debi Durham – 4018; Tom Vilsack & Sally Pederson – 3078; Jay Robinson & Holly Jane Hart – 37; Clyde Cleveland & Richard Campagna – 57.

Secretary of State: Mike Hartwig – 3464; Chet Culver – 3088; Don Arenz – 59; Sylvia Sanders Olson – 78.

Auditor of State: David A. Vaudt – 4027; Patrick J. Deluhery – 2127; Christy Ann Welty – 221.

Treasurer of State: Matt Whitaker – 3598; Michael L. Fitzgerald – 2959; Tim Hird – 72.

Secretary of Agriculture: John Askew – 3589; Patty Judge – 3186; Brian Russell Depew – 55; Fritz Groszkruger – 38; Ronald Tigner – 47.

Attorney General: David Millage – 2997; Tom Miller – 3904; Edward F. Noyes – 53.

State Representative District #72: Richard D. Arnold – 1555; Jerry Narber – 640.

State Representative District #75: Danny C. Carroll – 3082.

## **County Offices:**

Board of Supervisors: Greg Gordy - 5132; Lawrence Rouw - 4399

County Treasurer: Sone Scott – 4181; Steve W. Rexroth – 1662.

County Recorder – Diane Upton Crookham – 5284.

County Attorney – Charles Stream – 5165.

## **Township Offices:**

*Adams Township Trustee*: Vernon Gay – 80; Donald D. DeWitt – 76. *Adams Township Clerk*: Carleton Meinders, Jr. – 91

Black Oak Township Trustee: Melvin Uitermarkt – 214 Black Oak Township Clerk: no candidate

*Cedar Township Trustee*: Mark Hedge – 99; Leslie F. Krusemark – 76. *Cedar Township Clerk*: Lisa D. Albertson - 106.

*East Des Moines Township Trustee*: Tony Rodwell – 3; Roger Rodwell – 1 *East Des Moines Township Clerk*: Kevin DeRonde – 63

West Des Moines Township Trustee: Terry L. Harris – 50; Dean Heckenberg – 53. West Des Moines Township Clerk: Lois R. Harris – 62.

*Garfield Township Trustee*: Ron McCrea – 170; Lyle Blom – 144. *Garfield Township Clerk*: Eileen Blom – 172.

*Harrison Township Trustee*: Marvin DeBruin – 96; Charles Oldham – 124. *Harrison Township Clerk*: Annette DeBruin – 4

*Jefferson Township Trustee*: Steven Parker – 85; Rodney L. Schippers – 88. *Jefferson Township Clerk*: Jayne Rozenboom – 102.

*Lincoln Township Trustee*: Mike Overbergen – 173; Donald D. Vos – 142. *Lincoln Township Clerk:* Min Houk – 173 *Madison Township Trustee*: Bert E. Bandstra – 112; Wayne DeBruin – 103. *Madison Township Clerk*: R. Elaine Bandstra 128.

*Monroe Township Trustee*: Jack McKain – 56; Darlene Strasser – 59. *Monroe Township Clerk*: Dennis Molyneux – 70.

*Pleasant Grove Township Trustee* – Kirk Corbin – 1 *Pleasant Grove Township Clerk* – R. Dean Thomas – 34.

*Prairie Township Trustee*: Laurel DeJong – 85; Keith Renaud – 84. *Prairie Township Clerk*: William Drennan – 123.

*Richland Township Trustee*: Lawrence Roose – 168; Jerry Veenstra – 163. *Richland Township Clerk*: Marvin J. VanderMolen – 170.

*Scott Township Trustee*: Larry Ancell – 87; Richard Johnson – 101. *Scott Township Clerk*: Marilyn Binns Obermire – 108.

Spring Creek Township Trustee – Roger Broerman – 319; Kenneth G. Groenenboom – 300. Spring Creek Township Clerk – Judy Bridges – 328.

*Union Township Trustee* – Leslie Zimmerman – 2; Darrell Stout – 2 *Union Township Clerk* – William E. Patterson – 95

White Oak Township Trustee – Carroll Hol – 65; Eldon Louwsma – 52 White Oak Township Clerk – Vickie K. Cope – 76

*Mahaska County Hospital Trustee* – Elect 4: Michael Grim – 3286; Mary L. Sexton – 4156; Jon L. Sullivan – 3498; Paul Swenson – 3427.

Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners – Elect 2 Marilyn A. Obermire – 3915; Joe Blunk – 10

Lynndana Acres Sanitary Sewer District Trustee: Gary Staggs – 24

*County Agricultural Extension Council:* Elect 5 Amy DeBruin – 2554; Randy DeHeer – 2522; Jeff DeRooi – 2133; Martin D. Roepke – 2669; Dave VerMeer - 2299

*Supreme Court Judges:* Michael J. Streit – yes 3208 – no 1012; Marsha Ternus – yes 2924 – no 1095

*Court of Appeals:* Rosemary Shaw Sackett – yes 3001- no 1062; Larry J. Eisenhauer – yes- 2894 –no 980; Terry L. Huitink – yes 2870 no 995. *District Court Judges:* Dan F. Morrison – yes 3325 – no 967; Daniel P. Wilson – yes 2982 – no 989.

*District Associate Judge:* Lucy J. Gamon – yes 3003 – no 1025; Michael R. Stewart – yes 3161 no- 934

Public Measure:Should enhanced 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone Service be funded, in<br/>whole or in part, by a monthly surcharge of one dollar (\$1.00) on each<br/>telephone access line collected as part of each telephone subscriber's<br/>monthly phone bill if provided within the Mahaska County E-9-1-1<br/>service area?Yes - 2042No - 2682

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Groenendyk to approve the canvass and declare the candidates receiving the most votes to be winners. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned.

Chairman, Mahaska County Board of Supervisors

ATTEST:

Kay Swanson, Mahaska County Auditor