September 13, 2002

The Mahaska County Board of Supervisors met in Special Session at 9:00 a.m. in the third floor conference room of the courthouse. Present were the following board members: Howard Groenendyk; Henry W. VanWeelden and Greg Gordy. Also present was Kay Swanson, County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections.

Chairman VanWeelden called the meeting to order with a moment of silence.

It was moved by Gordy seconded by Groenendyk to approve the agenda for today's meeting. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections, Kay Swanson, reported the total number voting on election night as 2,026 voters voting at the polls plus 264 absentee votes. There was 1 absentee ballot and 1 paper ballot counted by the special precinct board making a total of 2,292 votes being cast at the 2002 School Board Election.

In Fremont Community School District there were 700 eligible voters and there were 92 votes cast at the polls and 5 absentee ballots.

In North Mahaska Community School District Director 2 there were 380 eligible voters and there were 14 votes cast and 0 absentee voters.

In North Mahaska Community School District Director 3 there were 369 eligible voters and there was 40 votes cast at the polls and 4 absentee ballots and 1 special ballot.

In Oskaloosa Community School District there were 10,285 eligible voters and there was 1880 votes cast at the polls and 256 absentee ballots.

There were 267 absentee ballots requested 265 were returned in time and 1 returned not voted and 1 not returned in time for the canvass.

After reading the votes cast for each Director District for Fremont Community School; North Mahaska Community School and Oskaloosa Community School it was moved by Gordy seconded by Groenendyk to declare that the following candidates were elected to be school board members. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Fremont Community School:

Bryan Archer and Sherri Baxter

North Mahaska Community School Director District 2: Marvin R. Knoot

North Mahaska Community School Director District 3: Duane L. White

Oskaloosa Community School Director District 4: Donald W. Patterson	
Oskaloosa Community School Director District 6: David K. Dickinson	
It was moved by Gordy seconded by Groenendyk t Motion carried.	to adjourn. All present voted aye.
	Chairman, Board of Supervisors Mahaska County, Iowa
ATTEST:	
Kay Swanson, Mahaska County	
Auditor and Commissioner of Elections	