Reprecinting in Mahaska County

Every county in Iowa must review its precinct boundaries after a federal decennial census, according to Iowa Iaw. As part of this process, the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors has scheduled a public hearing for 9:10 a.m. March 21, 2022, to solicit public input in regards to the proposed changes to the County ordinance setting polling precincts.

Mahaska County currently has 11 total polling precincts. The current proposal would reduce those to 9.

Combining precincts is considered for reasons of efficiencies as new legislative district lines are drawn following the census.

Here is a detailed list of the new polling place changes:

- 1. Precinct One shall consist of Adams Township, that portion of Lincoln Township lying outside the corporate limits of the city of Oskaloosa except census blocks 1035, 1036, 1041, 1043, 1044, 1045, 1046, 2025, and 3028, Monroe Township, and that portion of Spring Creek Township lying outside the corporate limits of the city of Oskaloosa except that census block 2029 within the corporate limits of the city of Oskaloosa shall be included in Precinct One. Precinct One shall include the city of Keomah Village and the city of University Park.
- 2. Precinct Two shall consist of Black Oak Township, Richland Township, and Scott Township. Precinct Two shall include the city of Leighton and that portion of the city of Pella lying within Mahaska County.
- 3. Precinct Three shall consist of Cedar Township, Harrison Township, and White Oak Township. Precinct Three shall include that portion of the city of Eddyville lying within Mahaska County, the city of Fremont, and the city of Rose Hill.
- 4. Precinct Four shall consist of East Des Moines Township, that portion of Garfield Township lying outside the corporate limits of the city of Oskaloosa, Jefferson Township, and West Des Moines Township. Precinct Four shall include the city of Beacon. Precinct Four shall include those portions of Lincoln Township in Census Block 1043, 1044, 1045,1046, 2025, and 3028.
- 5. Precinct Five shall consist of Madison Township, Pleasant Grove Township, Prairie Township, and Union Township. Precinct Five shall include that portion of the city of Barnes City lying within Mahaska County and the city of New Sharon.
- 6. Precinct Six shall consist of the city of Oskaloosa Ward 1.

- 7. Precinct Seven shall consist of the city of Oskaloosa Ward 2 and census blocks 1035, 1036, and 1041 in Lincoln Township.
- 8. Precinct Eight shall consist of the city of Oskaloosa Ward 3.
- 9. Precinct Nine shall consist of the city of Oskaloosa Ward 4.

The Board of Supervisors ultimately approves the ordinance setting the polling precincts and may consider other options. Due to the federal census being delayed this year, this process is being conducted under an expedited timeline.